International English Language Testing System
  • overviewIELTS Overview
  • test-format Test Format
  • exam-feeExam fee
  • faqMiscellaneous Details

IELTS Overview

IELTS is the International English Language Testing System, the world’s proven English language test. It is a standardized English proficiency test. It assesses English Language skills in the areas of listening, reading, writing and speaking. It is jointly owned by the British Council, IDP- Australia and University of Cambridge ESOL EXAMINATIONS.

IELTS was one of the pioneers of four skills English language testing over 25 years ago, and continues to set the standard for English language testing today.

Test Modules

IELTS has two types of modules namely the Academic and General Training. Academic Module is required to be given by students who plan to study at undergraduate or postgraduate levels. While, General Training Module is generally a prerequisite for the people who either want to pursue vocational studies or plan to immigrate.

Test Recognition

IELTS is accepted as evidence of English language proficiency by over 9,000 organisations worldwide. Last year, more than 2.2 million tests were taken globally. IELTS is recognised as a secure, valid and reliable indicator of true to life ability to communicate in English for education, immigration and professional accreditation.

Test Scores and Validity

IELTS is graded on a scale of 0 to 9, known as Band Scale. Generally, a score of at least 6 bands for UG and minimum 6.5 bands for PG is required in each section. The result is available in 15 working days and are valid for 02 years.

Test Format

Test Section Names Description
  1. The first section you appear for in the IELTS examination is the Listening section which lasts for 40 minutes.
  2. It contains 40 questions which have to be answered in a duration of 30 minutes.
  3. At the end of the test candidates get 10 minutes additional time to transfer their answer from the question paper to the answer sheet provided.
  1. The next section in an IELTS examination is the reading section. It has two different modules as mentioned above [see Modules section].
  2. Both the modules have 40 questions which have to be answered in a duration of 60 minutes.
  3. The questions are all objective in nature.
  1. The third section in an IELTS examination is the writing section.
  2. It is again divided into two modules – Academic [02 tasks (Diagram Prompt / Essay Prompt)] and General [02 tasks (Letter Prompt / Essay Prompt)].
  3. There is no considerable difference between the two, apart from a slight difference in Task 01 question.
  1. The final section of the IELTS examination is the Speaking section which is divided into 03 sub-sections – The General Question Round / The Cue Card Question / The Follow up question Round.
  2. It lasts generally for 11 – 15 minutes.

Exam Fee

Exam Fees – 11950 INR *

Miscellaneous Details

Test Name – International English Language Testing System
Test Duration – 02 hours 45 minutes [approx]
Test Sections – 04 sections – Listening, Reading, Writing and Speaking
Test Scores Validity – 02 years
Exam Fees – 11950 INR *
Test Repetition Policy – Next available date from your present examination date
Nature of the Test – Paper Based Test